Union of the Baltic Cities (UBC)

Rostock co-founded this network of cities in the Baltic Sea Region in 1991 in Gdansk (Poland). Today UBC has about 100 member cities from Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia and Sweden. The cities work together in different thematic commissions and working groups.

Above all, the goals of UBC are to promote cooperation and exchange of experience between cities in the Baltic Sea region in order to promote sustainable urban solutions and quality of life. In addition, the topics of environmental friendliness, resource-saving growth and participatory policy-making are in focus.